Category Archives: Adult Programs

Use this category for all adult programs.

April 9th at 5:30 – Kingston Public Library Book Group

Join us for interesting discussions of classic and contemporary literature, with a special focus on fiction. We welcome newcomers!

We meet on the second Thursday of each month at the Kingston Council on Aging. We begin each meeting with a brown bag supper, and sometimes we bring supper for everyone.

This month, we’ll be reading Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven by Fannie Flagg. If you would like the Library to help you locate a copy, please call 781-585-0517. Come and join the discussion!

April 9th – Author Talk with Jennifer Sinsigali – Before the Mayflower

Why would anyone living in civilized places, like England or the Netherlands, even consider boarding the Mayflower and sailing to the New World? With the threat of storms, pirates, and cramped dark conditions, an Atlantic crossing would have been a nightmare. Even if land is reached, the New World is a wild place lacking shelter and filled with uncertainty. The odds of survival hovered at fifty percent.

In the historical novel Before the Mayflower, Jennifer Sinsigalli enters the late 16th and early 17th centuries, a time of transition from Queen Elizabeth to King James in England, and in the Netherlands, the Dutch Golden Age. The story of the thirty-three years leading up to the famous Mayflower voyage is told in this meticulously researched novel, combining known names like Brewster and Bradford, with the fictional family of printer Nicholas Okes.

Ms. Sinsigalli will speak about her book at the second program of the Spring Author Talks at the Kingston Council on Aging on Thursday, April 9 at 7 p.m.

Register button

 

April 23rd – Author Talk with Scott Smith – The LGBT Superheroes!

Lawless and political thugs are pushing poison on the street and corrupting City Hall. But a new force emerges when four quirky friends step up to save their city. Investigative reporters have been chasing down countless conspiracy theories and when they join forces with the quirky friends, the united team closes in on exploding the chaos. In the process they prove that the whole can be far stronger than the sum of its parts.

The LGBT Superheroes! Book I: A Genteel Exercise of Vigilante Justice is the first book in a trilogy by Scott C. Smith. Book II will be published this Winter and Book III will be published in the Spring. The LGBT Superheroes! reads like a graphic movie on the page – full of action, drama, romance, humor, endearing main characters, a cool supporting cast, and engaging story lines. Diversity, acceptance and prejudice weave threads throughout, and the reader is taken on an exhilarating ride.

He will speak at the Kingston Council on Aging, 30 Evergreen Street

Register button

December 12th at 10am – Zen Doodle Interest Group

Did you take our recent Zen Doodle class, or are you curious about it? An interest group will be meeting at the Adams Center on the second Thursday of each month.

Anyone interested in Zen Doodle or Zen Tangle is welcome to come. We will share the work we have done and share new tangles. Although this is not a class, Kingston artist Ellen Cook will also offer some instruction.

If you’d like to join us, please email ejcook1@me.com for location details.

Registration is not required.

May 7th – Author Talk with Hank Philllipi Ryan – The Murder List

Rachel North, a law student, will unhesitatingly tell you that she is smart, a hard worker, and that she does the right thing. She’s successfully married to a faithful and devoted husband, who also happens to be a lion of Boston’s defense bar, and her internship with the powerful District Attorney’s office is her ticket to a successful future. The problem is that she’s wrong.

The Murder List is a new standalone suspense novel from award winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan. In this cat and mouse game, in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris, the battle for justice becomes the battle for survival.

Hank Phillippi Ryan will speak about her book at the fourth program of the Spring Author Talks at the Kingston Council on Aging on Thursday, May 7 at 7 p.m.

Register button

 

May 14th – Author Talk with Christina Thompson – Sea People

For more than a millennium, Polynesians have occupied the remotest islands in the Pacific Ocean, a vast triangle stretching from Hawaii to New Zealand to Easter Island. Both the most closely related and the most widely dispersed people in the world before the era of mass migration, Polynesians can trace their roots to a group of epic voyagers who ventured out into the unknown in one of the greatest adventures in human history.

In Sea People: The Puzzle of Polynesia Christina Thompson examines the conundrum known as the Problem of Polynesian Origins, which asks how the earliest Polynesians, without writing or metal tools, conquered the largest ocean in the world and colonized these far flung islands. Sea People is a masterful mix of history, geography, anthropology, and the science of navigation.

Ms. Thompson will speak about her book at the final program of the Spring Author Talks at the Kingston Council on Aging on Thursday, May 14 at 7 p.m.

Register button

May 14th at 5:30 – Kingston Public Library Book Group

Join us for interesting discussions of classic and contemporary literature, with a special focus on fiction. We welcome newcomers!

We meet on the second Thursday of each month at the Kingston Council on Aging. We begin each meeting with a brown bag supper, and sometimes we bring supper for everyone.

This month, we’ll be reading Leaving Van Gogh by Carol Wallace. If you would like the Library to help you locate a copy, please call 781-585-0517. Come and join the discussion!

June 11th at 5:30 – Kingston Public Library Book Group

Join us for interesting discussions of classic and contemporary literature, with a special focus on fiction. We welcome newcomers!

We meet on the second Thursday of each month at the Kingston Council on Aging. We begin each meeting with a brown bag supper, and sometimes we bring supper for everyone.

This month, we’ll be reading The Dutch House by Anne Patchett. If you would like the Library to help you locate a copy, click the button below or contact the library at 781-585-0517. Come and join the discussion!

July 9th at 5:30 – Kingston Public Library Book Group

Join us for interesting discussions of classic and contemporary literature, with a special focus on fiction. We welcome newcomers!

We meet on the second Thursday of each month at the Kingston Council on Aging. We begin each meeting with a brown bag supper, and sometimes we bring supper for everyone.

This month, we’ll be reading The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates. If you would like the Library to help you locate a copy, click the button below or contact the library at 781-585-0517. Come and join the discussion!